top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAziel

Chapter 16: The Plan

On the floating snowy continent of Iarlec rests the beautiful Clockwork Palace. Clockwork Palace is a giant mechanical contraption that is made entirely of gears and clocks. At the very top of the palace is a gigantic grandfather clock. Harmonious melodies of ticktocks echo the grand halls and resting at the throne is the beautiful and voluptuous Queen Clockwork, a Iarlan woman that appears to be in her mid thirties. Queen Clockwork has a very militant look to her, as she wears a beautiful eyepatch over her left eye and is constantly checking a pocket watch. Beside her is her trusty butler Behlgos, a suave looking Iarlan Ohgahnian that wears a monocle.


Behlgos hands Queen Clockwork several papers and she swiftly peruses them while constantly stopping to check her pocket watch.


Queen Clockwork: According to the reports that pesky prince and his little mistress don’t stand a chance against the true might of a queen. And I’m inclined to agree with them.


Behlgos: But what if they succeed, Your Majesty?


Queen Clockwork: If by some miracle they do then I can only imagine what Princess Hannah is going to do to them. Their efforts will be in vain all the same. That boy should really learn from his father’s mistakes.


A loud ominous bell chime is heard and several doors along the walls of the throne room open. Several non-human Iarlan servants pour in and sweep, mop, and dust the room in an almost robotic-like fashion.


Queen Clockwork: But then again, if a miracle does occur then this could be a golden opportunity for us.


Behlgos: You don’t suppose you’re going to use that boy for your latest endeavors are you, Your Majesty? I highly doubt the Queen of Queens would allow it.


Queen Clockwork chuckles.


Queen Clockwork: The Queen of Queens still owes me a grand favor from eight score ago. Perhaps fate will finally compel me to use it.


Inside the halls of Massadah Palace walks Queen Bethel and Yinyah. A small entourage of servants trail them. Queen Bethel appears to be perfectly poise and in a pleasant mood, while Yinyah the opposite.


Yinyah: Your Majesty, are you truly sure this is the best approach we should be taking? They plan to strike tonight and you’re seemingly doing nothing about it.


Queen Bethel chuckles.


Queen Bethel: Oh Yinyah, you have much to learn when it comes to the ways of the queens.


Yinyah: But--


Queen Bethel: Our guards are perfectly prepared and ready to stop this little coup d'etat they’re planning.


Yinyah: Word of the Witch Tier being discovered has spread far and wide and now the Massadans are restless. This is the only kingdom that hasn’t been given a floating continent by the Queen of Queens and now the people are beginning to put faith in Loc’s suicide campaign.


Queen Bethel: Tonight will be the final stamping out of any and all future rebellions that will spark from this kingdom. Tonight we will prove our undying loyalty to the Queen of Queens by destroying the Witch Tier and offering up my nephew to her.


Yinyah pauses in frustration and Queen Bethel begins to walk down a beautiful grand staircase. Yinyah catches up to her.


Yinyah: Have you considered that perhaps the prince and the Witch Tier may not be the only threats arriving?


Queen Bethel: Yinyah, remember your place. You may have some skill with the sword but I am a queen. Only the other grand rulers and the princesses can test my might. Do not misplace your faith before the upcoming skirmishes.


Yinyah: Yes, of course Your Majesty. I am only acting out of concern for you and this kingdom’s well being. After all you are the first human to treat me with proper respect. I owe you dearly.


Queen Bethel and Yinyah enter a beautiful garden that rests on a balcony overlooking the steampunk Massadah City far below. Queen Bethel materializes a water canteen and begins to water the exotic looking plants. She appears to be delighted to do so. Yinyah briefly gazes at the evening sky.


Queen Bethel: Oh have you missed me my darling sprouts? Mother Bethel is here now to keep you all healthy.


Bethel glances at Yinyah.


Queen Bethel: You give me too much credit Yinyah. You’re practically human yourself, aren’t you?

Yinyah hesitates.


Queen Bethel: There’s no need to hide yourself.


Queen Bethel turns to the entourage that was following them.


Queen Bethel: Servants, I wish to be alone with Lady Yinyah now.


The servants bow and leave.


Queen Bethel: See? It’s just me now, you can pull off that mask.


Yinyah reluctantly removes her mask, revealing her Tahlyan features, however they are not as defined as Rivna’s.


Queen Bethel smiles.


Queen Bethel: I see nothing but a beautiful girl.


Yinyah slowly reveals a grateful smile.


Yinyah: I am but a half-breed, an abomination to all.


Queen Bethel: Yinyah, you have been my most loyal servant. I almost view you as if you were my own daughter. You could never be an abomination to me.


Yinyah attempts to hide her blushing face.


Yinyah: You honor me too much, Your Majesty.


Bethel sighs and continues to water the plants.


Queen Bethel: When my sister and her husband were slain, the Queen of Queens appointed me the ruler of this kingdom out of mercy. She sought to rain her spell of judgment down on this land and exterminate us all. But through the grace of The Will I convinced her that I could keep this kingdom loyal to her. She may have removed my ability to bear children but it was a small price to pay to have my people continue on.


Yinyah looks surprised by her words.


Queen Bethel: Loc is the only family I have left. And now I’m about to lose him too.

Yinyah: I only wish for the best outcome for you, Your Majesty.


Queen Bethel materializes a ruby crown.


Queen Bethel: My outcome was decided when I accepted this crown from the Queen of Queens.

She dematerializes the water canteen and begins to leave the garden.


Queen Bethel: Come Yinyah. I’m famished and it’s time for supper.


Yinyah puts her mask back on and follows her.


Aboard the coal machine is Loc and Seth standing at the bow of the ship as it speeds through the evening skies. With them is a tall and stocky young Arcane man by the name of Joshua. Several other similar ships trail it.


Seth: So are you really ready to go through with this?


Loc: I was born ready.


Seth smiles.


Seth: There’s really no stopping you is there?


Loc: Can a man stop destiny?


Seth: At first I wasn’t sure about all this Loc, but now that we’re on our way to change history for better or worse, I feel like no matter what this is the right thing to do.


Loc: I’m glad you feel that way Seth. And thanks again for your support Joshua. This wouldn’t be possible without your help either.


Joshua: Anything for the true heir of the throne. You can leave the queen’s men to my crew. Just focus on dethroning her along with the Witch Tier.


Loc: I will. And when this is over how does being the general of Massadah sound to you?

Joshua smiles.


Joshua: I think you better hurry up and take care of that woman so I can get that promotion.

Loc and Seth chuckle.


Seth: We’ll be approaching the capital soon. I’m going to check on the men one last time.

Loc: Very well.


Seth and Joshua salute to Loc by placing their right fists over their hearts and leave. Loc looks on ahead at the sky. A hand is placed on his shoulder; it’s Gideon.


Gideon: You ready Nephew?


Loc: Of course Uncle. We’re on the verge of taking back our kingdom.


Gideon: From Bethel?


Loc: No. From the Queen of Queens. If possible I would like to spare Aunt Bethel’s life. A life of pleasant confinement would be proper, I reckon.


Gideon: Well, if it comes to that. But don’t get your hopes up. She may be your aunt but she is ultimately a pawn of the Queen of Queens, thus our enemy.


Loc: It’s a shame our initial plans were found out. I would have like to do this in a manner that would result in less casualties.


Gideon: It’s all in The Will’s hands kid. Besides, being surreptitious just isn’t you Nephew. You’re too much like your father. By the way, how are you doing with that new technique I taught you?


Loc: Honestly it’s quite difficult to master, not to mention it’s extremely dangerous.


Gideon: I only want you using it if you feel you don’t have a choice. Remember if you’re not completely focused when you start, it’ll give you a heart attack. Treat it as a last resort.


Loc: I will Uncle.


Rivna approaches them. Gideon notices.


Gideon: Well Nephew I’m going to do one last check on the artillery. I’ll be rooting for you two every step of the way.


Gideon places his hand on Loc’s shoulder and gives him a stern look.


Gideon: And no matter what happens down there, never forget that The Will is with you. He’s ultimately the reason we’re going to win this battle. Understand?


Loc: I do, Uncle. Thank you.


Gideon smiles and leaves.


Rivna: You’re Uncle really cares about you.


Loc: Yeah. He’s been like a father to me. I’m truly thankful for him.


Loc and Rivna stare at sky together. Rivna subtly rubs her chest, wincing in pain. Loc notices.


Loc: Don’t tell me Kenjiro’s attack still hasn’t healed yet.


Rivna: No, it’s nothing. Please, think nothing of it.


Loc looks concerned.


Loc: Look I don’t want you involved in this if you’re still not well.


Rivna: Loc, please. I said think nothing of it.


Gidget eagerly approaches them with a shiny new Steam Sword. He looks exhausted.


Gidget: Rivna, Rivna! I have your sword! And just in time!


Rivna takes the sword with elation.


Rivna: Oh Gidget, this is wonderful!


Gidget: Well it’s almost wonderful. It’s not quite as sturdy as the one you had before since this was a rush job, but it’s definitely good for one explosive attack.


Rivna: I’ll keep that in mind Gidget, thank you.


Loc: You did well Gidget.


Gidget: Thanks, Your Majesty! Give them hell you two. I gotta get a quick nap in before it’s too late.


Loc produces a pocket watch and checks it.


Loc: Well you better get to it because you only have about ten minutes before the action starts.


Gidget: Sometimes ten minutes is all I need to recharge.


Gidget scurries off. Rivna smiles. Loc looks at the sky with a serious face.


Loc: This is all coming together now father. Today we’ll make you proud.


Rivna: No matter what happens when we confront the queen I want you to know that I have appreciated all you’ve done for me during our brief time together.


Loc: Rivna, this is the first of many bouts we’ll have together. Nothing is going to happen to you.


Rivna: I don’t know how you find the way to speak so boldly.


Loc: The Will does not deal with those who are not as bold as lions. I am on a divine campaign to turn this world right side up. I can’t afford to whimper about like a spineless man.


Hannah: Tell me big brother, do you feel bold now?


Loc and Rivna jolt around in shock. Hannah gives them a cute girly smile.


Chapter End

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Chapter 25: When Lightning Strikes

Tep-Tep City is beautiful but rundown mining city that rests at the center of a snowy archipelago of floating islands. The region is located in Iarlec, one of the smaller continents of Irikihl that re

Chapter 24: Uninvited Guests

Loc, Rivna, Gidget, and Smoke face Princess Hannah aboard the Flying Broom. Hannah looks at Loc with a pouty face. Hannah: You have a lot of nerve Big Brother. You had me waiting for days! And then I

Chapter 23: Reflection

Rivna is standing at the bow of the Flying Broom gazing into the distance of the moving skies. She is wearing a beautiful, feminine, and regal dress. She is alone and looks healthy. She produces her M

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page