top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAziel

Chapter 12: The Wandering Swordsman and the Queen's Curse

Dawnguthar Village is a peaceful rural feudal Japan-esque village. It’s night time and inside a home sits Kenjiro, a handsome young Dyrkcen man in his late teens. He’s wearing an eye patch over his right eye and carries a sheathed steampunk katana. Sitting across from him and sipping tea is Chiho, an elderly Dyrkcen woman.


Chiho: Your father, and your father’s father accepted this tribulation with grace. Why can’t you do the same?


Kenjiro: The Ogre Eye is a burden no man should bear. Unlike Father I refuse to lay down my life to that witch without a fight.


Chiho: Careful Kenjiro, her eyes and ears are in every room.


Kenjiro: Then let her witness the vow that will end her regime. Once I acquire and unseal the Ogre Blade I will sever her head with it, thus freeing our family of this three hundred year long curse.


Chiho: And what makes you believe you’ll achieve these ambitions where your predecessors could not? Don’t tell me it’s the vain rumors of the Witch Tier.


Kenjiro: The oracles have never lied, Grandmother. King Hezekiah may have fallen but his efforts proved that the Queen of Queens is not as omnipotent as she appears to be. If his son acquires the Witch Tier then it will only be a matter of time before her kingdom falls.


Chiho: But you only have twelve years left. What if you meet her wrath before that time? At least give the clan another heir before you embark on this foolish crusade.


Kenjiro stands and smiles.


Kenjiro: That won’t be necessary. I’ll give you more great grandchildren than you can count after my triumphant return.

Kenjiro mounts Ki-Ki, a purple kyta, on the outskirts of the village. Pito, a sixteen year old Dyrkcen boy with an eye patch, and Mai, a beautiful young Dyrkcen woman in her late teens, approach Kenjiro. Kyta are horse-sized foxes with multiple long tails.


Mai: Kenjiro!


Pito: Grandmother is actually letting you leave?


Kenjiro: Destiny calls.


Mai: Please Kenjiro, you don’t have to do this.


Kenjiro: If I don’t who will?


Pito: But no one can defeat the Queen of Queens. And how do you plan on getting your hands on the Ogre Blade anyway?


Kenjiro: Don’t worry, my plan is a good one.


Mai: But good plans can fail. What if something were to happen to you before your time is up?


Kenjiro: Pito, you’re in charge while I’m away. It’s up to you to keep the clan safe and to continue our bloodline.


Pito: But brother it has to be the firstborn!


Kenjiro begins to take off.


Mai: Then at least…


Mai hesitates as she blushes. Kenjiro looks back at her. She looks down at her feet while holding her garment; on the verge of revealing a confession.


Mai: At least… Let me bear your child before you leave then Kenjiro.


Kenjiro and Pito look shocked.


Mai: Uh, just so that we can continue the bloodline before it’s too late. That’s all.


Kenjiro smiles and continues down the path.


Kenjiro: You can bear my heirs when I return Mai. Farewell.


Pito: Wait Kenjiro! 


Mai pauses with a subtle look of elation.


Mai: Heirs?


She performs a subtle wave, appearing a bit spaced out due to joy. Pito looks at her and sighs.


Pito: You know this might be the last time we’ll ever see him again don’t you?


Mai continues to wave with a smile without looking at Pito.


Mai: He’ll return.


Kenjiro passes a forest on the way out of the village. A young Yinyah, who is still wearing a mask, watches him leave from behind a tree unnoticed.

Brine Shore's market place is busy and lively. A group of impoverished looking Arcane children carrying fruit are being chased by an Arcane man.


Kenjiro, who looks like he’s in his early twenties, notices the commotion. He’s accompanied by Ki-Ki and is wearing a cross of feudal Japan clothing and western attire. The kids turn a corner near him and hide behind boxes in an abandoned alley.


The Arcane man stops at the corner and turns to Kenjiro.


Arcane Man: Did you see where they went?


Kenjiro points in the opposite direction.


Arcane Man: Thank you sir.


The Arcane man leaves in haste. Kenjiro looks at the children. They show him a smile of gratitude. He winks at them before carrying on.

Loc rises in his bed.


Heldine: How are you feeling darling?


Loc grunts in pain as he feels his stomach.


Loc: I’ve been better. But what are you doing here, Heldine? And for that matter where am I?


Heldine: We’re at an inn inside the coastal town of Brine Shore, darling. 


She hugs him, to his dismay.


Heldine: Oh thank the stars you seem to be okay now Loc. For a moment there I thought I might have lost you.


Rivna: (Loc!)


Loc: Huh?


Heldine pulls away.


Heldine: I said I was really worried about you. 


Loc: Uh, how did I end up here?


Heldine: Honestly darling, you and that crew of misfits. I keep telling you they’re no good for you but you never listen. If you would just settle down with me you’d never be in this predicament.


Loc: Heldine, I’ve told you countless times, my customs—


Heldine: Forbid it. Yeah, yeah, I know, and I don’t care. There’s an exception to every rule Loc, and soon you’re going to learn that I’m what’s best for you. Because had it not been for me you’d be in the land beyond time on numerous occasions by now.


Loc: I appreciate your help, Heldine. I really do. But my ambitions go against everything you represent.


Heldine: Well after we get married I’ll be representing you darling. And we are getting married this time! No more exceptions. I’m putting my foot down this time because you’re in a heap of trouble right now. Hannah and every bounty hunter in the neighborhood is currently after you. There’s a courthouse in town where we can sign our wedding papers. Once that’s done we’ll sneak to the town's outskirts were we can take a transport back home to Mother.


Rivna: (Answer me Loc!)


Loc leans his head on his hand.


Loc: Heldine, please. I still don’t even know what the hell is going on.


Heldine: You’re going to be a man of your word and finally marry me like you promised. That’s what’s going on.


Loc: What promise?!


Heldine: Don’t act like you don’t remember! You promised to take me as your bride!


Loc: Heldine we were six!


Heldine smiles and looks off into the distance.


Heldine: And ever since then I knew we were destined to be together.


She shows him the knitted sweater.


Heldine: I knitted another sweater for our firstborn while you were asleep! I even started taking up more baking classes since I know our children are gonna have a big sweet tooth like their father. By the way, is having seventeen children too few? I want our kids to have plenty of siblings to play with growing up but…


Rivna: (Loc! Loc!)


Loc pauses upon hearing Rivna’s voice.


Heldine: …Anyway if you quit being such a grump we could be living a life of bliss right now. I mean you do love me don’t you?


Rivna: (Can you hear me Loc?!)


Loc subtly holds his head.


Loc: Yes.


Heldine gasps in excitement.


Heldine: So you really do love me?! See?! That’s why we need to hurry up and get married!


Loc: Wait what? No I didn’t mean it! I was talking to—

Heldine leads Loc down a busy street of Brine Shore. They’re both wearing hooded robes.

Heldine: The courthouse is just down the block, darling. Hopefully no one will recognize us.

Loc looks down at his arm. It’s handcuffed to Heldine’s. He lets out a depressed sigh.


Kenjiro passes them.


Kenjiro: Loc?! Hey Loc it’s your old pal! Remember me?!


Loc: Kenjiro?! What the hell are you doing here?!


Kenjiro: Aw you know, just thought I’d help out an old friend.


Kenjiro sheaths his blade and whistles. Loc’s handcuffs are cut loose, Heldine looks surprised. Ki-Ki runs by, grabs Loc, and takes off into the sky. 


Heldine: Why you!


Heldine produces her halberd and swings. Kenjiro blocks with his blade and is pushed back several yards with a grunt. Dark rainbow-colored mist spews from Kenjiro's covered eye. Heldine swings again but to her surprise Kenjiro’s body turns to mist and disappears.


Heldine turns and watches Kenjiro leap from a rooftop and mount Ki-Ki. She mounts her halberd like a broom.


Heldine: You’re not getting away—


She looks down at her halberd in confusion. The steam engine is slashed. She grunts in anger.

Loc and Kenjiro fly far away from the city on Ki-Ki.


Loc: Where are we headed?


Kenjiro smiles.


Kenjiro: To see the queen.

Chapter End

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Chapter 25: When Lightning Strikes

Tep-Tep City is beautiful but rundown mining city that rests at the center of a snowy archipelago of floating islands. The region is located in Iarlec, one of the smaller continents of Irikihl that re

Chapter 24: Uninvited Guests

Loc, Rivna, Gidget, and Smoke face Princess Hannah aboard the Flying Broom. Hannah looks at Loc with a pouty face. Hannah: You have a lot of nerve Big Brother. You had me waiting for days! And then I

Chapter 23: Reflection

Rivna is standing at the bow of the Flying Broom gazing into the distance of the moving skies. She is wearing a beautiful, feminine, and regal dress. She is alone and looks healthy. She produces her M

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page