top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAziel

Chapter 11: Threads of Insurrection

Inside the beautiful Massadah palace is Queen Bethel reading a newspaper of Donny Don’s death in great dismay. Queen Bethel is a middle-aged obese Arcane woman dressed in regal European-esque attire. Tommy and several Arcane servants are with her. Queen Bethel begins to cry.


Queen Bethel: My Donny. My Donny! Who did this to my Donny?!


Standing beside her is the tall, stiff, and composed Arcane butler Eithan. Standing beside Eithan is Yinyah. Yinyah is a tall young Dyrkcen woman who’s face is covered by her hair and a white mask. Hanging from her waist are two sheathed katana. Dyrkcens have purple hair and eyes; East Asian ethnicity. 


Eithan: Our sources say that he was eliminated by a notorious bounty hunter that goes by the name of Smoke, Your Majesty.


Queen Bethel: Smoke?


Tommy: Some even call him the Green Devil.


Yinyah: With all due respect Your Highness, had you not recalled me from being his bodyguard he would still be among the living.


Queen Bethel: But I never thought anything like this would happen! I mean who is this Smoke fellow? Why would he target my Donny?


Eithan: I believe he was simply after the bounty reward, Your Majesty.


Queen Bethel: The reward?! My Donny was taken from me over that stupid bounty I put out?! I only made that bounty because I was angry with him. I never fathomed it would result to this!


Tommy: If you want, Your Majesty, I believe I can get you in contact with this Smoke fellow.


Queen Bethel: Really? Is that so?


Yinyah: Shall I drench my blade with his blood, Your Highness?


There is a pause as Bethel crumbles up the newspaper.


Queen Bethel: No. I will take care of him personally for stealing the life of my precious Donny. Tommy, bring him to me alive as swiftly as you can.


Tommy grins.


Tommy: As you wish, Your Majesty.


A female Arcane servant rushes into the room.


Arcane Servant: Your Majesty! Princess Hannah is here to see you!

Everyone gasps.


Queen Bethel: So soon?!

Sitting on the throne of the beautiful grand throne room is a bored looking Hannah. Sitting on her lap is a large red teddy bear. Queen Bethel, Eithan, Yinyah, and several Arcane servants rush into the room and kneel before her. The room’s ceiling has a giant burnt hole in it right above the throne.


Queen Bethel: Your Majesty! Please forgive me for welcoming you in such a manner. We were still in the midst of preparing for your arrival—


Hannah: Save it old hag.


Queen Bethel hides her ire with a smile.


Hannah: I don’t give a damn about what you and your filthy people do on your free time, I just wanna know where my big brother is.


Queen Bethel: Well rest assured we will find him very soon. I have my best people on the job, and I assure you every accomplished bounty hunter is on the hunt. It’s only a matter of time, Your Grace.

Hannah holds up three fingers.


Hannah: You got three days lady.


Bethel and the others look surprised.

Queen Bethel: Three days?


Hannah: I didn’t stutter did I? And—


Hannah pauses.


Hannah: Wait a minute why haven’t I been served some of your delicious soul milk and honey crackers yet? That’s about all your kingdom is good for and I haven’t been offered anything since I arrived.


Queen Bethel: Oh yes of course Your Grace. Where is my hospitality?


Eithan snaps his fingers and an Arcane maid scurries in with a platter of milk and crackers. The servant kneels and offers the platter like she’s offering it up to a god. Hannah glares, then smacks the platter away.


Hannah: On second thought, I’m not in the mood for pig's food.


Queen Bethel looks nervous.


Queen Bethel: Oh yes of course Your Grace. If there’s anything else we can do for you just ask—


Hannah: Oh yeah, you can bring me my big brother. Like I said you have three days. And—


Hannah giggles. A small amount of steam spews from her tiara and she holds her finger up as a small ember floats above it.


Hannah: Mother gave me permission to blow up your whole kingdom if you don’t meet the deadline. Apparently Mother suspects you people might be secretly in cahoots with Loc’s ambitions.


Queen Bethel gasps in horror.


Queen Bethel: We would never dream of such a disgraceful act, Your Grace! Trust me when I say this Your Grace, we do not under any circumstance condone any action that would lead to betraying the glorious Queen of Queens.


Hannah: Don’t worry, I believe you. And if you want Mother to believe you too then I suggest you find him soon.


Queen Bethel: He will be delivered within the allotted time, Your Grace.


Hannah: Very well. Then I’ll take my leave from this filthy dump.


She stands and snaps her fingers, setting herself ablaze, however she and her attire are unharmed. After a pause she snaps her fingers and the flame ceases. She has a bashful pouty look as she avoids eye contact with them.


Hannah: Oh by the way, um, don’t tell Mother I said this but you can remove the whole dead or alive bit from his bounty. Just be sure to bring him directly to me alive and in one piece.


Queen Bethel and the others stare at her quizzically. Hannah looks embarrassed.


Hannah: It’s not what you’re thinking! It’s just, I haven’t seen my big brother— I mean that hooligan in a while and I wanna make sure he’s in good torture condition for Mother.


Queen Bethel: We will bring him to you unscathed, Your Grace.


Hannah: You better! I mean, yeah I think that would be best. Anyways, I’ve done my part. Ta-ta.

Hannah snaps her face fingers, setting herself ablaze again. She makes a spectacular exit through the burnt hole in the ceiling, rattling the whole palace. Queen Bethel sighs in relief. They all stand.


Queen Bethel: Three days?! Ugh, call off the hunt for Smoke and pour all of our efforts into finding that troublesome nephew of mine!


Eithan: As you wish, Your Majesty.


Yinyah: (An heir of the Queen of Queens was right before me. Her neck was within reach of my blade but... I must find a way to unseal this blade soon if I am to stand a chance against that horrifying power.)

It’s a beautiful sunny day at the port of the city of Brine Shore. Lady Lykah, a young seven-foot-tall priestess whose body is completely covered from head to toe, is surrounded by a pleased crowd of mostly Arcane people.


Lykah is holding a beautiful giant golden bludgeon with one arm over a group of injured children.


Lykah: Great Spirit, anoint me with your awesome power to restore these innocent servants of yours: Clyrsis.


Steam emits from her bludgeon and bright silver particles dance around the children, fully healing them all. The children check their healed bodies and the crowd cheers. An Arcane mother hugs her healed little girl with tears.


Arcane Mother: Oh bless you Lady Lykah! Bless you!


The children group around Lykah and give her a hug while thanking her.


Arcane Man: That’s the great Lady Lykah for you. She can heal any wound.


Lykah: I’m afraid I must go and return to my homeland now everyone.

The crowd looks sad.


Arcane Boy: Please return to us soon, Lady Lykah!

Lykah: If it be the way of The Will.


A boat horn is heard. Aphita, a middle-aged Lyrkrian priestess, waves to Lykah aboard a ship. Lyrkrians have yellow eyes and hair; East Indian ethnicity.


Aphita: Lady Lykah! Please, we’ll miss our voyage!


Lykah: Stay safe and out of trouble children. And remember to seek to please the Great Spirit in all of your actions.


The children nod in agreement. Lykah boards the boat and waves to the crowd as it sails off.


Lykah: May The Will favor you all.


Aphita approaches Lykah.


Lykah: By the way, have you learned what became of that young man at the inn? 


Aphita: I believe he’s on pace to make a swift recovery, milady.


Lykah: Ah, thank The Will. 


Rivna: (Loc! Loc!)


Loc slowly awakens inside a quiet room in an inn. His wounds are bandaged and he looks surprised upon discovering that his missing arm has been fully restored.


Beside Loc is a young hooded woman knitting a small sweater. She stops knitting upon noticing his movements. She removes her hood—


Heldine: Oh darling! You’re finally awake!


Loc looks flabbergasted.

Chapter End

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Chapter 25: When Lightning Strikes

Tep-Tep City is beautiful but rundown mining city that rests at the center of a snowy archipelago of floating islands. The region is located in Iarlec, one of the smaller continents of Irikihl that re

Chapter 24: Uninvited Guests

Loc, Rivna, Gidget, and Smoke face Princess Hannah aboard the Flying Broom. Hannah looks at Loc with a pouty face. Hannah: You have a lot of nerve Big Brother. You had me waiting for days! And then I

Chapter 23: Reflection

Rivna is standing at the bow of the Flying Broom gazing into the distance of the moving skies. She is wearing a beautiful, feminine, and regal dress. She is alone and looks healthy. She produces her M

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page